Sat. Jul 11th, 2020

Oath of 80 interim-members of BTA moved

DAVAO CITY (February 20, 2019) – 80 interim-members of Bangsamoro Transition Authority (BTA) that governs Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (BARMM) until June 30, 2022 taking oath this week certainly moved to Friday February 22 this year, nominee Moro Islamic Liberation Front (MILF) said.

BTA is the body serving as an interim government in BARMM which would be officially electing in May 9, 2022.

Bangsamoro Organic Law (BOL) provided 80 members of parliament where 50% seats placed to party representatives, 40% seats for sectoral/district representatives, at least 8% Ulamas, youth, women and traditional leaders and 2 seats for community settlers and indigent people. BTA members will appoint chief minister of the Bangsamoro region before deputy chief ministers nominated by chief and elected by members, according to the BOL.

25 elected officials of ARMM including Governor and Vice Governor will be “automatically a member” of the BTA provided by Law.

By this week, ARMM will turn to BARMM done by Monday February 25, however BTA members yet to citing an office.

“The small plenary hall of the ARMM regional legislative assembly designed for 25 ARMM officials now a fourscore in BARMM,” – member of Bangsamoro Youth Model Parliament Association that has simulated the BARMM assembly in ARMM-RLA last September 2018.

ARMM governor Mujiv Hataman citing the office of the BTA members is decent to be held at Shariff Kabunusan Cultural Complex (SKCC).

MILF Ebrahim Murad, who will act as the interim chief, also cited SKCC for the regular session.

President Rodrigo Duterte has yet to announce the 80 members for the Bangsamoro assembly.